Speak Out: And that my friends is the real question!

Posted by Old John on Sat, May 14, 2011, at 12:55 AM:

Charcoal or gas? :)

Replies (68)

• Get out the Bromo-Seltzer!

-- Posted by voyager on Sat, May 14, 2011, at 3:56 AM
  • Charcoal. I get enough gas after eating the bbq

-- Posted by Knoblickian on Sat, May 14, 2011, at 6:27 AM
  • Charcoal

-- Posted by We Regret To Inform U on Sat, May 14, 2011, at 7:28 AM
  • Kingsford and other "charcoal" brands contain coal, oil, limestone, starch, sawdust and petroleum products. Using natural hardwood charcoal is by far safest and best for you health.

Using lighter fluid is a huge NO NO! As for gas, I don't own a gas smoker or grill and wouldn't.

In my opinion the main advantage to a gas grill is convienence. Charcoal sears meat quickly, creating a crusty, caramelized exterior and smoky flavor that you can't achieve by cooking over gas. I am no expert but do have over 50 trophies two of which are Grand Champion, for cooking over hardwood in BBQ contest in the tri-state area. If you want convienence buy a gas smoker or grill. If not, do the old fashioned way and purchase a charcoal smoker or grill. Both will require maintenance.

Charcoal grills and smokers are usually cheaper.

-- Posted by GREYWOLF on Sat, May 14, 2011, at 8:51 AM
  • This is what I use at home. Got it for Daddy Day 4 years ago. I can control the temp perfectly. Heavy but worth it.

http://www.biggreenegg.com/eggs_L.html

Before that was a old water heater tank made into a smoker that finally burned through after 25 years. I really miss that one.

-- Posted by We Regret To Inform U on Sat, May 14, 2011, at 9:12 AM
  • We regret, I know several friends who have the "greenegg" smoker. They love it. Expensive but indeed a great addition for any outdoor cooking enthusiast. It looks great on a deck or patio as well. Cooks very well in cold winter temps too.

-- Posted by GREYWOLF on Sat, May 14, 2011, at 9:32 AM
  • MICRO-WAVE!!!☺☺☺!